Upcoming Events:




Recent Announcements:
  • Spirit Days!
    At McKinley we strive to be a community, a family, a union that together help each other, our extended families and our community. School spirit events are a way to show our unity. Studies have shown that students with “school spirit” perform better academically, are more engaged in social and civic matters, and are happier in general than their less-spirited peers. Listed below are “School Spirit Events” we will hold throughout the school year. Please help us in our goal of unity and spirit by encouraging your child to participate in the events.

    Date

    Theme

    Tuesday, October 17

    Wear Pink for Breast Cancer Awareness

    Tuesday, October 24

    Wear Purple for March of Dimes

    Thursday, October 26

    Wear Red for Anti-Drug Awareness

    Monday, November 6

    Dress for Career Success (Business Attire)

    Thursday, November 9

    Superhero Day

    Wednesday, November 22

    McKinley Apparel Day

    Thursday, December 7

    Pearl Harbor Remembrance: Red, White & Blue

    Thursday, December 14

    Inside Out & Backward Day

    Thursday, December 21

    Ugly Sweater Day

    Friday, December 22

    Crazy Hair Day

    Thursday, January 18

    Mismatch Day: Wear Mismatching Clothes

    Thursday, February 1

    Be on a Drug Free Team: Wear Football Team Jersey

    Monday, February 12

    RFA Spirit Week: Pajama Day

    Tuesday, February 13

    RFA Spirit Week: Wear a Disney Character Shirt

    Wednesday, February 14

    RFA Spirit Week: Valentine’s Day Wear Red

    Thursday, February 15

    RFA Spirit Week: Twin Day

    Wednesday, March 14

    Pi Day--Math Night   

    Thursday, March 15

    College Sweatshirt Day

    Friday, March 16

    St. Patrick’s Day: Wear Green

    Tuesday, April 10

    Baseball Jersey Day

    Thursday, April 26

    Put a Sock on Drugs: Crazy Sock Day

    Tuesday May 15

    McKinley Apparel Day

     Friday, May 25

    Dress Like a Rock Star

     Thursday, June 14

     Flag Day: Wear Red, White, and Blue

     Thursday, June 21

     Rainbow Day: Wear all colors of the rainbow

    Posted by Joanna Gillen
  • Gifted Talented/IIM/VE Parent Meeting
    Dear Parents/Guardians,

    Now that the school year has officially gotten under way, I would like to take this opportunity to invite you to attend a special parent meeting focused solely on the Gifted and Talented, IIM and VE programs at McKinley IS 259.

    The meeting will take place in the auditorium on Wednesday, October 18, 2017 at 6:30pm. The Focus of this informational meeting will be as follows:
    • · What the academic programs offer 
    • · The retention policy 
    • · The grading policy 
    If you are interested in attending this meeting, please complete the tear off on the bottom no later than Monday, October 16, 2017 and have your child return it to their homeroom teacher. If you have any questions, comments, or concerns please feel free to call me at 718-833-1000, extension 4200 or our parent coordinator, Ms. Castignani at 718-833-1000, extension 2200.

    I look forward to hearing from you and meeting you on October 18, 2017.

    Thank you,

    Donna Nastasi
    AP, William McKinley IS 259

    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Homeroom Teachers, please place in Ms. Castignani’s mailbox upon receipt of this.

    Student’s Name: _______________________________________________

    Student’s Class: ________________________________________________

    Parent/Guardian’s Name: ________________________________________

    Parent Contact #: _______________________________________________
    Posted Oct 3, 2017, 7:49 AM by Joanna Gillen
  • Senior Dues

    Dear Students, Parents/Guardians,

    We will be collecting senior dues beginning Thursday, October 5, 2017 until Friday, November 3, 2017.
    Senior dues are $85.00.

    Senior Dues include the following items:

    1. McKinley Yearbook
    2. Award at Graduation
    3. Graduation Gowns
    4. Printing of Graduation Tickets
    5. Printing of Graduation Programs
    6. Printing of Diplomas
    7. Diploma Case
    8. Class Picture (For Diploma Case)
    9. Seals for Diplomas
    10. McKinley Senior T-Shirt (Given out for the Senior BBQ)
    11. McKinley Senior Bag

    Please complete the form below and include it with your payment. Personal checks or money orders are to be payable to McKinley IS 259. Cash is also welcomed. Please have your child place the completed form below and his/her senior dues in an envelope with his/her name and class on the front of the envelope. Your child should return their senior dues to Ms. Castignani, Parent Coordinator in room 220. If you have any questions please contact Ms. Castignani at 718 833-1000 x 2200.

    Unfortunately, we will not be able to refund Senior Dues.
    Posted Oct 4, 2017, 9:16 AM by Joanna Gillen
Showing posts 1 - 3 of 101. View more »